The 2017 Annual Meeting of the members of Wheatland Electric Cooperative, Inc. (Wheatland or Cooperative) was held on April 19, 2017, in the Wichita County Community Building at 506 E M Street in Leoti, Kansas at 12:30 p.m. CDT. The meeting was held pursuant to notice provided each member of the Cooperative. Charles Ayers presented an invocation prior to the luncheon that began at 11:30 a.m.

Woody Barnes, Board President, was Chairman throughout the meeting. The Chairman called to order the 69th Annual Meeting and welcomed all members. Chairman Barnes introduced the Officers and Trustees of the Cooperative. Bruce Mueller, General Manager, introduced special guests in attendance.

Chairman Barnes announced there were 89 members present in person at the meeting and 54 members present by proxy. Those members present by proxy were reported by overhead projection. The Cooperative membership exceeds 1,000, and therefore, 50 members or more present constitutes a quorum. A quorum was announced by Chairman Barnes. (A list of the attendance of the 2017 Annual Meeting is attached hereto as Attachment "A.")

Chairman Barnes presented that the official Notice of Annual Meeting, the Affidavit of Mailing, and the Certificate of Membership would be read to the members present. Motion was made by members from the floor, seconded and passed by unanimous vote to waive the formal reading of the Official Notice of the Annual Meeting, the Affidavit of Mailing and the Certificate of Membership.

Jim McVay, legal counsel for the Cooperative, summarized the Official Notice of the Annual Meeting, the Affidavit of Mailing, and the Certificate of Membership. (The Notice of the Meeting with the Certificate of Mailing is attached to the minutes of this Annual Meeting hereto as Attachment "B.")

The 2016 Annual Meeting minutes were provided to the members when registering at the meeting. Chairman Barnes presented that the 2016 Annual Meeting minutes would be read to the membership. Motion was made from the floor to dispense with the reading of the 2016 minutes and to approve them as presented; it was seconded, and approved by unanimous vote. The reading of the previous minutes was waived. There were no additions or corrections to the minutes and they were approved.

Radona Smythe, Director of Finance, presented the Treasurer's Report, which was also published in the April issue of the *Kansas Country Living* magazine and was mailed to each of the members, along with the official Notice of Meeting. The Chairman asked the members if there were questions relative to the report. The Chairman announced that he would entertain a motion to accept the report as mailed to each of the members of the Cooperative. Upon motion made, seconded, and passed by unanimous vote, the Treasurer's Report was approved.

Chairman Barnes introduced Stuart Lowry, President & CEO of Sunflower Electric Power Corporation, to provide a special presentation to the membership. Mr. Lowry explained Sunflower's relationship with Wheatland and the Southwest Power Pool's integrated market. Mr. Lowry explained that it was Sunflower's goal to provide power at the lowest possible rate. Mr. Lowry also presented on the consequence of wind power on transmission in the Southwest Power Pool.

Mr. Mueller made a special presentation to the members. Bruce presented on the Wheatland Electric highlights for 2016. He discussed the Automated Metering Infrastructure (AMI) deployment, and the combining (east and west) of Wheatland's rules and regulations. He explained the rate adjustment that was implemented in 2016. Bruce also explained that there would be a \$750,000.00 capital credits payment provided to the members in 2017 based on the 2016 financial performance of the company.

Shawn Powelson gave a special presentation on the Youth Tour and scholarship programs of Wheatland. Mr. Powelson announced the Cooperative's winners for the Youth Tour as follows:

Payton Garrison, Norwich - Washington, D.C., Electric Cooperative Youth Tour Arely Yanez, Tribune - Washington, D.C., Electric Cooperative Youth Tour Justin Brown, Caldwell - Steamboat Springs, Colorado, Cooperative Youth Leadership Camp Rossiel Reyes, Caldwell - Steamboat Springs, Colorado, Cooperative Youth Leadership

The 2017 scholarship recipients were also announced. Bruce Mueller presented certificates to the students attending the meeting. The 2017 recipients were announced as follows:

Courtney Larson, Argonia
Lydia Stewart, Caldwell
Bre Akiu, Conway Springs
Ashtin Heath, Great Bend
Morgan Crockett, Greeley County/Tribune
Sidnie Mathes, Harper
Megan Roth, Holcomb
Abby Fischer, Leoti
Erin Hall, Norwich
Kylee Trout, Scott City
Reina Seal, Syracuse

Service awards were then recognized by Chairman Barnes and Bruce Mueller to employees as follows:

35 Years
Terry Rebel
30 Years
Eilene Jacobs
25 Years
Mark Kircher

Camp

20 Years Wes Campbell

## 15 Years

Ben Hahn Tuan Herrell Gearold Leverett Andy Pivonka

Tyson Ryff

## 10 Years

Pam Brungardt Amy Jones Jake Jones Lisa Loeppke Shawn Ryan Joe Thomeczek Brad Thyne

Quintin Wheeler

## **5 Years**

Brandon Barrett Lewis Brown Cody Ellis Jordan Habiger Bruce Mueller Beth Nelson Shawn Powelson Heather Rufenacht Nathan Shrock

Chairman Barnes then inquired of the members of whether there was any old business to come before the meeting. There was no old business to come before the meeting.

Chairman Barnes then called for new business. There was no new business announced from the floor. Chairman Barnes announced an item of new business was the election of Wheatland Trustees. Mr. McVay read the Nomination Committee Affidavit. The Nominating Committee was composed of Ed Cupp, Milan Reimer, Dale Wetzel, Marvin Graber, Robert Buerkle, Matt Hoisington and Kim Miller. The Nominating Committee placed into nomination and selected the following candidates: Katie Eisenhour, District 1; Vic Case, District 2; Stacey Addison-Howland, District 4; and, John Kleysteuber, District 5. All nominations were made by motion, seconded and passed by unanimous vote. The members were told that additional Trustee candidates could be nominated from the floor. The qualifications for the Office of Trustee were read to the members verbatim from the Wheatland Bylaws.

Thereafter, Jim and Chairman Barnes asked for nominations from the floor. After waiting more than one minute, there were no nominations from the floor. Motion was made, seconded and passed by unanimous vote to close the floor nomination process. Because there were no nominations from the floor, there was a discussion from the floor to dispense with the casting and counting of ballots of Trustees and to approve the full slate of candidates selected by the Committee on Nominations. On motion made, seconded and passed by unanimous vote, there was

no casting and counting of ballots for Trustees and the nominations made by the Committee on Nominations were approved by unanimous vote of the membership.

Chairman Barnes asked for and found that there was no additional new business to be presented at the meeting. Chairman Barnes asked for a motion to adjourn the meeting. A motion was made, seconded and carried at 2:10 p.m. CDT.

RESPECTFULLY SUBMITTED,

JAMES M. MCVAY, GENERAL COUNSEL