All News

SCOTT CITY–Wheatland Electric Cooperative, Inc. (WEC) will be celebrating 75 years of cooperative history at this year’s annual meeting on Wednesday, April 26, 2023, at the Scott Community Building, 600 Fairground Rd., in Scott City, Kan., and in seven other remote meeting locations across our service territory. 

This year’s theme – Feel the POWER – reflects our long history and continued commitment to the communities we serve.

In addition to celebrating 75 years of community ownership and control, we'll be sharing important news and information from the past year as well as future challenges and opportunities in providing reliable and affordable electric power to rural America.

All Wheatland Electric co-op members (account holders) are invited to attend and exercise their POWER by nominating and voting for their trustee representation and cooperative governance bylaws. 

Co-op members in attendance at all meeting locations can register to win one of dozens of door prizes. In addition, each member household attending will also receive a special 75th anniversary gift. 

Registration opens at 10:30 a.m. CT, and lunch will be served at 11:30 a.m. CT at all meeting locations. The business meeting will commence at noon. Members must be in line to register by noon to be eligible to vote. 

The following matters will be addressed: reports of officers, trustees, committees, and employees; changes in bylaws; election of cooperative trustees; and any other business which may come before the meeting.

The annual meeting held in Scott City will be simulcast in real-time at seven other locations, which include the following:

  • District 2, Wheatland Electric Warehouse, 103 West F, Leoti, Kan.

  • District 3, Wheatland Electric Warehouse, 310 Broadway Ave., Tribune, Kan.  

  • District 4, VFW Building, 609 N. Main Street, Syracuse, Kan.  

  • District 5, Wheatland Electric Office, 2005 W. Fulton, Garden City, Kan.  

  • District 6, Wheatland Electric Office, 200 10th Street, Great Bend, Kan.  

  • District 7, Westview Lodge & Apartments, 1300 N. Westview, Harper, Kan.

  • District 7, Caldwell Community Building, 119 E. First Street, Caldwell, Kan.  

The following candidates have been nominated by the nominating committee for the position of trustee: Katie Eisenhour – District 1 (1106 Myrtle St., Scott City, KS); Josh Young – District 2 (112 S. Genesse St., Leoti, KS); Stacey Addison-Howland – District 4 (911 N. Norris St., Syracuse, KS); John Kleysteuber – District 5 (6310 E. Old Post Road, Garden City, KS). 

The 2023 nominating committee consisted of the following cooperative members: District 1, Ed Cupp; District 2, Milan D. Reimer; District 3, Dale Wetzel; District 4, Pat Riley; District 5, Jason Dougherty; District 6, Lane Moore; and District 7, Troy Dierking.

In addition, the following candidate has been nominated by petition as established by Wheatland bylaws: Lynn B. Freese – District 1 (2061 W. Road 230, Scott City, KS).

Additional nominations may be made from the floor during the April 26 meeting.

Click here for more information about WEC’s annual meeting. Members with questions can also contact their local Wheatland Electric office or send a message to

2023 Annual Meeting