All News

Conway Springs, KS – Wheatland Electric Cooperative, Inc. announced today that its Sharing Success Fund, managed by the Scott Community Foundation, has awarded a $1,000 grant to the Conway Springs Development Fund.

The mission of the Conway Springs Development Foundation (CSDF) is to increase pride and further develop a thriving, family-friendly community in Conway Springs by bringing together local businesses, organizations, and volunteers to partner in achieving shared goals. The CSDF aims to provide growth opportunities for all Conway Springs residents through servant leadership and project development by utilizing the time, skills, and treasures of the community.

Grant funds will be used to upgrade the interior and exterior lighting at the CSDF Building, formerly a historic Presbyterian church. “This grant will provide for brighter, safer spaces within and around our historic community building, which is used for community theatre, exercise classes, children's education, and so much more,” said CSDF secretary Brandon Salisbury. “The upgraded fixtures would make our spaces safer for all uses and allow us to allocate financial resources to other community initiatives.”

The Scott Community Foundation began formally accepting applications for grants from the Wheatland Electric Sharing Success Fund from community-based organizations on December 1, 2012.  Wheatland Electric and CoBank have each contributed $10,000 this again year to the fund. The program will continue to run until the funds are exhausted. Since 2012, the Sharing Success Fund has made $125,000 available to community-based organizations and projects across Wheatland’s service territory.

Community based organizations interested in receiving funding from the Wheatland Electric Sharing Success Fund can apply online at Questions should be referred to Alli Conine, Director of Member Services & Corporate Communications, at 620-874-4563 or

About Us

Our Mission: Delivering Energy for Life – Wheatland Electric Cooperative, Inc., a member owned distribution cooperative headquartered in Scott City, Kans., was established in 1948 as a distribution and power cooperative, in the state of Kansas. Today, Wheatland Electric serves more than 33,000 electric meters in 14 Kansas counties and 3 Colorado counties and maintains over 4,000 miles of distribution power lines across southwest and central Kansas and eastern Colorado. Together, with the help of our members, we are committed to building a better and stronger rural America. Visit for more information.

Wheatland Electric member services and key accounts manager Mary Hoisington (third from left) presents a $1,000 Sharing Success grant to the Conway Springs Development Foundation represented by (left to right) Tamara Salisbury, Brandon Salisbury, Jessica Gerlach, Michelle Leidy-Franklin and Amber Harrington.  Grant funds will be used to upgrade the interior and exterior lighting at the Foundation Building.