All News

There is a new face on the Wheatland Electric Board of Trustees. John Sullivan, a Great Bend resident for 24 years, has been appointed to replace a vacated seat by outgoing trustee Dan Bonine. 

Dan, who served on the board since Wheatland’s acquisition of the City of Great Bend from Aquila in 2007, has been a member of the Great Bend community since 1976 and retired from a long-standing banking career prior to joining Wheatland.

In addition to nearly 15 years of service to Wheatland, Dan served on the Kansas Electric Cooperative (KEC) Board for several years, recently retiring from that position in 2020. He also simultaneously served as an alternate board member with Sunflower Electric for eight years, offering valuable knowledge and experience between our cooperative and our power supplier. We wish Dan the best in his future endeavors. 

John, newly appointed to fill Dan’s vacating seat, is a native of Logan, KS, and is the chief financial officer of the Great Bend Cooperative Association. Prior to that he was a certified public accountant for Lindburg Vogel, where he audited local grain cooperatives. 

A graduate of Western Illinois University where he also played college football, John received his bachelor’s in business finance. He also holds a bachelor’s degree in accounting from Wichita State University.

He has served as an ambassador for the Great Bend Chamber of Commerce for 13 years, is currently a member of the Great Bend Optimist Club and past president, has served as treasurer for a local Boy Scouts troop for 12 years, and has also served as a PTA president for a local Great Bend school. 

He is married to his wife Annie of 33 years, and together they have two children: Erin and Blake. In his spare time John enjoys spending time with his family hiking in the mountains and biking around Barton County enjoying the countryside. 

The Wheatland Board of Trustees comprises 10 individuals who represent the cooperative’s six southwest and central Kansas districts. Members may contact any of the board of trustees by calling the main office at 1-800-762-0436 or 620-872-5885.